A federal regulatory agency established under the Commodity Futures Trading Commission Act, as amended in 1974 that oversees futures trading in the United States. The commission is comprised of five commissioners, one of who is designated as chairman, all appointed by the President subject to Senate confirmation, and is independent of all cabinet departments.

« Back to Glossary Index